Prize in Game Theory and Computer Science of the Game Theory Society

The Prize was established in 2008 in recognition of Ehud Kalai's role in promoting the connection of the two research areas by an endowment of Yoav Shoham.

It is awarded to the person (or persons) who have published the best paper at the interface of game theory and computer science in the last decade. Preference is given to candidates of age 45 or less at the time of the award, but this is not an absolute constraint.

At the occasion of the Third Congress of the Game Theory Society in Evanston, Illinois, USA, July 13–17, 2008, the Prize is awarded to

Constantinos Daskalakis, Paul W. Goldberg, and Christos H. Papadimitriou

for their paper

"The complexity of computing a Nash equilibrium," *Proceedings of the Thirty-Eighth Annual ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing* (STOC), pages 71–78, 2006

for its key conceptual and technical contributions on the complexity of computing Nash equilibrium.

The Prize consists of a cash award of 2,000 US Dollars, plus travel expenses to attend the Congress.

dt. Hogu

H. Peyton Young President of the Game Theory Society The members of the Prize committee, appointed by the President, were Ehud Kalai, Silvio Micali, and Yoav Shoham.

