Skip to main content

2015 Abel prize awarded to John F. Nash and Louis Nirenberg

On March 25th of this year the Norwegian Academy of Sciences announced that John Nash along with Louis Nirenberg were awarded the Abel prize in Mathematics. The prize is named in honor of Niels Hendrik Abel, whose name graces commutative groups (with a pun involving grapes) and certain integrals and functions in the complex plane […]