Chess Graphic

Welcome to the Website of the Game Theory Society

GTS News

(last updated on June 30, 2016)

Conference program

for GAMES 2016 - Fifth World Congress of the Game Theory Society, July 24 - 28, 2016, Maastricht, The Netherlands.

Upcoming Conference Deadlines - see below

Elections of GTS Officers 2016

(mailed to GTS members by Jean-Jacques Herings, Secretary-Treasurer of the Game Theory Society, on 10 June 2016)

Dear Members of the Game Theory Society,

According to Bylaws of our Society, elections for the Officers of the Society have to be held every two years. The Officers (the President, the Past President, the Executive Vice-President, the Vice-President for Communications, and the Secretary/Treasurer) are responsible for the ongoing operations of the Society. New officers are elected by the members of the Council, upon a proposal drawn up by the Steering Committee, using the system of approval voting.

The elections took place recently, and we would like to inform you of the outcome.

In the election 20 Council members voted, and this is the result:

The newly elected officers will take up their positions on August 1, 2016

Council Elections 2015

(mailed to GTS members by Jean-Jacques Herings, Secretary-Treasurer of the Game Theory Society, on 30 March 2016)

Dear member of the Game Theory Society,

The elections for the replacement of 12 members of the GTS Council have taken place, and the following candidates have been elected:

Rabah Amir
Tilman Börgers
Olivier Compte
Hülya Eraslan
Srihari Govindan
Noam Nisan
Georg Nöldeke
Akira Okada
Karl Schmedders
Chris Shannon
Rajiv Vohra
Leeat Yariv
We thank candidates and voters for their collaboration.

In Memoriam: Lloyd S. Shapley (1924-2016)

posted by Rakesh Vohra, 13 March 2016

The Nobel laureate Lloyd Shapley passed away on March 12, 2016. He was of the `heroic age' of Game Theory that gave us, among others, Gale, Nash, Scarf, and Kuhn. You will find his memorial among the many eponymous concepts, models and theorems that pave the subject: the Shapley value, the Shapley-Shubik assignment model, The Gale-Shapley algorithm, the Shapley-Folkman Theorem, the Bondareva-Shapley Theorem, Aumann-Shapley pricing and the Scarf-Shapley housing model. The list just enumerated is biased towards Shapley's contributions to co-operative games and matching. On the noncooperative side there is the introduction of stochastic games, the introduction (joint with Monderer) of Potential games and with Aumann a folk theorem for infinitely repeated games. Even until the onset of dementia some years ago, Shapley continued to `bang away' as it were, most recently with the von-Neumann Morgenstern solution. His breadth and fecundity are unrivaled. For this the Society honors him at each World Congress through the Shapley Lecture which is given by a distinguished game theorist aged 40 or under at the time of the Lecture.

Shapley was, until recently, a regular of the Society's meetings at Stony Brook as well as the World Congress. He was no wallflower and could be heard asking pointed questions, and directing others to his less well known work on, say, accessibility of fixed points.

Shapley also delighted in playing games, having invented (along with Nash, Hausner and Shubik) the game `so long sucker'. At conferences, Shapley would hold forth on how Kriegspiel (blindfold chess) is to be played rationally, though less enlightened souls reported he lost that way. He will be missed.

Upcoming Conference Deadlines

(see GTS conference announcements)

July 29, 2016: Submission Deadline for
12th International Conference on Web and Internet Economics (WINE 2016) (December 11 - 14, 2016, Montreal, Canada)

July 31, 2016: Paper submission for
UECE Lisbon Meetings 2016: Game Theory and Applications (November 3 - 5, 2016, Lisbon, Portugal)

September 15, 2016: Extended Abstract Submission Deadline for
2nd Lancaster Game Theory Conference (November 18 - 19, 2016, Lancaster, United Kingdom)

Israeli Chapter of the Game Theory Society - Elections

(posted February 22, 2016)

The Israeli Chapter of the Game Theory Society elected Abraham Neyman as the President for the years 2016-2018, and elected Igal Milchtaich as the Executive Officer.

homesite mapcontactsite info